About EFry Toronto

We advocate for alternatives to the criminal justice system and raise awareness about systemic oppressions that put women in conflict with the law

E%20Fry%20Main%20logo_edited.png

1951-1952

A Brief History—

from a one-room office

in 1952

History

Elizabeth Fry

In 1951, a group of women from the First Unitarian Church Toronto met to discuss prison reform with Agnes MacPhail, Canada’s first female Member of Parliament. This meeting resulted in the founding of the Elizabeth Fry Society, Toronto Branch incorporating as a non-profit in 1952.

From a one-room office on Jarvis Street, the agency has grown into its current location which provides counselling, support programs, and transitional housing. 

Phyllis Haslam

 
IMG_9993.JPG

Our Mission

Elizabeth Fry Toronto delivers gender based, trauma informed services and advocates for justice and equity for women and non binary people who are criminalized and their families.

Our Vision

We envision communities where women are not criminalized.

Our Values

COMPASSION

We honour women’s voices, experiences and resilience and prioritize women’s mental, spiritual, physical and emotional health.

EQUITY AND INCLUSION

We are a feminist organization and we challenge oppression in all its forms.

EXCELLENCE

We foster a collaborative culture based on self-reflection, continuous learning, effective partnerships, quality improvement and evidence based practice.

ACCOUNTABILITY

We are responsible to ourselves and to our stakeholders for using resources appropriately, communicating honestly and acting with integrity.

pexels-nicholas-swatz-2770681_edited_edi
E%20Fry%20Main%20logo_edited.png

Meet the EFry Toronto Team

Our compassionate and caring staff committed to excellence

FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION


416-924-3708 Shehan Abeynaike, Finance Coordinator, ext 237
sabeynaike@efrytoronto.org Richard Opoku-Boateng, Facilities Coordinator, ext 246 rboateng@efrytoronto.org Paz Humana, Reception and Administration Coordinator, ext 230 phumana@efrytoronto.org




COMMUNITY OUTREACH AND EMPLOYMENT SUPPORT


416-924-3708 Building Employment Strategies Together (BEST) Cynthia Richards, BEST/ Pre-Employment Counsellor, ext 244
crichards@efrytoronto.org Exit Doors Here Caroline Jones, CTI Counsellor, ext 231
cjones@efrytoronto.org Sarah Wade, CTI Counsellor, ext 260 swade@efrytoronto.org Leslie-Ann Fullerton, Outreach/CTI Counsellor, ext 298 lfullerton@efrytoronto.org My Start-Up Rasheeda Guinn, Employment Program Coordinator, ext 241 416-435-7607
rguinn@efrytoronto.org Halyna Vinnichenko, Employment Program Coordinator, ext 226 416-436-6188
hvinnichenko@efrytoronto.org Street Outreach Van 416-573-7876 Dana Riley, Project Supervisor, ext 252 driley@efrytoronto.org Nadine Morgan, Harm Reduction Outreach Worker nmorgan@efrytoronto.org Kristen Webster, Harm Reduction Outreach Worker kwebster@efrytoronto.org




COUNSELLING AND COURT SERVICES


416-924-3708 Reintegration Services Emily Irwin, Reintegration Counsellor, ext 232 647-612-5652
eirwin@efrytoronto.org General Counselling Services Sherrette Thomas, General Counsellor, ext 243
sthomas@efrytoronto.org Juliana Bruyn, General Counsellor, ext 249 416-435-1557
jbruyn@efrytoronto.org Partner Assault Response (PAR) Myroslava Stadnyk, PAR Counsellor, ext 247
mstadnyk@efrytoronto.org TREM (Trauma Recovery and Empowerment Model) Nana Boateng, TREM Counsellor, ext 261
nboateng@efrytoronto.org Chloë Foisy-Marquis, TREM Counsellor, ext 262 416-931-5215 cmarquis@efrytoronto.org Direct Accountability Program (DAP) 416-593-4267
cjwcollegepark@efrytoronto.org Michele Landis, DAP Counsellor, ext 227 416-705-2920 mlandis@efrytoronto.org Reach Out to Women (Jean Tweed Centre) Stephanie Archambault, Counsellor, ext 254 416-803-3487 sarchambault@efrytoronto.org




RESIDENTIAL AND HOUSING PROGRAM


416-924-3708 Nilani Sabanayakam, CTI Housing Counsellor, ext 224
nsabanayakam@efrytoronto.org Residential Staff, ext 233
residencestaff@efrytoronto.org




VOLUNTEER, COMMUNICATIONS AND FUNDRAISING


416-924-3708 Kendra St. Cyr, Communications & Fundraising Coordinator, ext 234 kstcyr@efrytoronto.org Sabra Rezaei, Volunteer & Community Services Coordinator, ext 248 srezaei@efrytoronto.org




LEADERSHIP TEAM


416-924-3708 Kelly Potvin, Executive Director, ext 256 kpotvin@efrytoronto.org Sheila Baroro, Director of Finance & Administration, ext 240
sbaroro@efrytoronto.org Vibhuti Mehra, Director of Programs, ext 263
vmehra@efrytoronto.org Ermelina Balla, Manager of Community Outreach & Employment Supports, ext 253
eballa@efrytoronto.org Iren Tajbakhsh, Manager of Counselling and Court Services, ext 238
itajbakhsh@efrytoronto.org Lucy Gudgeon, Manager of Residential and Housing Program, ext 250
lgudgeon@efrytoronto.org Natalie Carpentier, Manager of Development & Communications, ext 225
ncarpentier@efrytoronto.org





 

Women, You Are Inspiring

Your support is both crucial and necessary. We hope you will contribute to our efforts

to make Elizabeth Fry Toronto a place where women feel safe and supported

Counseling.jpg

Support Women's Rights & Freedoms

Thank You to our Donors & Partners

In light of the COVID-19 crisis, your support becomes more crucial and necessary in ensuring that we are able to provide services to women who are relying on us now more than ever.​

Our Programs & Services-and the many women we help depend on your support.

Charitable Registration 11923-1306 RR0001

Good bye Jackeie and Amanda.jpg